Millennial Esquire: Restaurant 2 Vine


                                                                                          The Foreword

Before I get into the nitty gritty, I would like to point out a few things. First off, I went to 2 Vine on New Year’s Eve. Second off, even with a reservation the place was packed. Third off, my date and I ate from the holiday menu. I also try be as fair and honest as possible without being cruel. With that in mind, I would like to start.

                                                                                        The Atmosphere

A cozy little bistro a buzzed with the clanging of pans and conversation. The dimly lit glow of warm white bulbs lulled against the dark wood panelling. It made for an interesting feel in contrast to the open vigor of the kitchen. Did I mention that the kitchen was open for the patrons to peer into?

                                                                                         The Nitty Gritty

Perhaps, trying out a new restaurant is not the best thing to do during the holiday season. My date and got to the restaurant half an hour early so we stayed in the car. Then at ten of nine, we went inside.  I immediately noticed how young the staff was…about early to mid-twenties. (They were quite friendly and professional.) Our waitress was quite attentive.

We had to wait for a table to open up it was about a 15 minute wait. We would have waited at the bar if it was not packed like a can of sardines.  But it would not have made much of a difference. So we read the menus. There were three menus: one for drinks, the regular menu, and the holiday menu. We decided to “go big or to go home” and ordered from the holiday menu. We wrongly assumed that we could order a dish from the holiday menu, but have an entree from the regular menu.

Well, we had to order separate appetizers. (We thought we could share. The portions did not permit sharing. We assumed so much.) He ordered the shrimp cocktail. I ordered the shrimp and lobster dumpling broth. Next up were the salads.

He choose the Caesar Salad and I choose something with bacon. I don’t recall, because I was lost at bacon. All I know is that it was a salad and it was better than his. Then came the entrees, about two hours later.(Again it was a busy night due to the holiday. So  I don’t hold it against them. )He ordered lobster tail and I ordered the land and sea ( lobster and steak, yum!) For drinks I had a sparkling mosacto and my date had a rose. We also got a complimentary glass of champagne and a jug if water.

Beyond that the dishes seemed slightly off. I am not sure why. Perhaps, was because the time of the night. Or they did not have enough time familiarizing themselves with the holiday menu. (Food service is a tricky line of work.) Finally, came dessert. I had the candy bar and he had the three scoop gelato and an espresso.

Overall, the highlights of this experience was the staff and the drinks. The meal was alright. I would have to try 2 Vine again during a regular night.

Leave a Reply

