Hairstory: Extensions The Interlude


Hair extensions have always been a part of of my hair regime. And to some extend an extension of my identity.

My extensions served as a security blanket. It masked not only my natural hair, but my face as well. I could hide and blend in with my peers.

With time I became more bold even zaney. I did brighter colors, twists, and downright outlandish.

But with hair extensions came its own set of issues. Besides feeling out of place when I was not wearing them.

The hair extensions would often pull my hair out. I neglected to take proper care of my natural hair. To a certain degree, the extensions were my hair.

It helped me to better relate to my peers. So I conformed rather than standing out.

Leave a Reply

