Hairstory: The Re-education of the Natural Paradigm


After ditching the perm (a.k.a the relaxer) and the extensions I had to learn a new set of heuristics when it came to my hair. It was hard because I didn’t know where to start.

My mother had gone natural, years ago, with sister locs adorning her crown. But her hair path was not the path I wished to embark on so I had to start from scratch.

Like any stereotypical millenial I turned to Youtube. I couldn’t tell you how many hours I watched, naturals I interviewed, or methods that I tried.

At some point, I hit a vortex of frustration. It didn’t seem like I was making any headway with my lifestyle change.

I had to tip toe my way around video tutorials and come up with a solution. So I started with the basics. I learned about daytime/nighttime regiments, styles, and such.

I even kept a journal. I was like a scientist discovering Atlantis for the first time.

Consciously I felt more aware of me and the universe that surrounded me. Not like I was combating against societal norms, but I was expressing the authentic me, in my strength and all vulnerability.

As if something inside of me had a wakened.

Even now as I write this piece I feel empowered. Because I know the amount of time, effort, and money that I put into this hair journey.

How I spent a good portion of today meticulously twisting my hair in micro two-stranded twists. How I twisted my twists into Bantu Knots before untwisting them into tight spiral curls with definition and direction.

And I know my efforts will be rewarded by the thickness and growth of my hair.

Leave a Reply

